The 32nd International Symposium on Superconductivity (ISS2019)


It is my great pleasure to announce that the 32nd International Symposium on Superconductivity (ISS2019) will be held at the attractive ancient city, Kyoto, Japan, in coming December, organized by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST). The ISS has been keeping the annual tradition since the first Symposium held in 1988 after the discovery of copper-oxide-based high-temperature superconductors.


Last year we held the ISS2018 at Tsukuba and welcomed nearly 450 participants from 21 global regions. As a representative of the superconducting R&D community, ISS2019 will pay a lot attention to “Outreach of superconducting technologies”, the session we initiated at the last ISS2018. I hope this attempt will provide a good opportunity for the participants to think of possible impact and implementation of superconducting technologies outside the community. This year also, I will enhance the relation with “Superconductivity School”, to cultivate young human resources.


The AIST is operating a research consortium on superconductivity “the Applied Superconductivity Constellations of Tsukuba (ASCOT)” since 2016. ASCOT is composed of 20 private companies and 9 national universities/institutes (including AIST). ASCOT aims to develop superconducting technologies into practical products and systems applicable in our society, and to foster young researchers who may contribute to the future of this technology. In this context, ASCOT supports ISS as well.


I sincerely hope that this symposium will gather many scientists, engineers, students, corporate executives and other participants from all over the world, and will facilitate fruitful discussions to promote superconducting technologies. And please enjoy the banquet of ISS2019 to stimulate networking among participants, which is to be carried out in the beautiful site of classic Heian-jingu Shrine filled with a plenty of wonderful traditional arts.



March 8, 2019
Toshihiko Kanayama
General Chair, ISS 2019

Haruhiko Obara
Co-Chair, ISS 2019